Back to All Events

Universität Der Künste Berlin

  • Universität der Künste Berlin Joseph-Joachim-Saal, 12 Bundesallee Berlin, Berlin, 10719 Germany (map)

The Raphael Project 1

When Franz Schubert was between fifteen and eighteen years of age, he wrote some ten string quartets for his own use. One of them is the String Quartet No. 10 in E flat Major, Op. 125/1 D87. The quartet consisted of Franz on viola, his two older brothers Ignaz and Ferdinand on violins and their father on cello. A very early masterwork...

Günter Raphael’s String Quartet No. 2 in C Major, Op. 9, composed in 1925, is an example of his early composition style. This early composition style, bound in part to tradition, made the music world listen because of his very personal thematic writing combined with a versatile developmental artistry.

The second quartet of Günter Raphael in this concert is his last one, String Quartet No. 6 in F Major, Op. 54 demonstrates an approach to the 12-tone music, which Raphael significantly describes as 'tonal 12-tone'.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's String Quartet No. 15 in d Minor, K421 is the second of the quartets dedicated to Haydn and the only one of the set in a minor key. Though undated in the autograph, it is believed to have been completed in 1783, while Constanze Mozart was in labour. Constanze stated that the rising string figures in the second movement corresponded to her cries from the other room.

Earlier Event: May 1
Christine Raphael Foundation
Later Event: May 12
Pauluskirche Berlin-Zehlendorf