Back to All Events

Trinity Society Of The Arts

  • Delmar Gallery 144 Victoria Street Ashfield, NSW, 2131 Australia (map)

Heading To Berlin

Günter Raphael’s String Quartet No. 1 in e Minor, Op. 5, composed in 1924, is an example of his early composition style. This early composition style, bound in part to tradition, made the music world listen because of his very personal thematic writing combined with a versatile developmental artistry.

To complement one of Raphael’s very early works, we’ve programmed one of Mozart’s most famous and late string quartets - String Quartet No. 15 K421.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's String Quartet No. 15 in d minor, K421 is the second of the quartets dedicated to Haydn and the only one of the set in a minor key. Though undated in the autograph, it is believed to have been completed in 1783, while Constanze Mozart was in labour. Constanze stated that the rising string figures in the second movement corresponded to her cries from the other room.

Earlier Event: January 5
Peninsula Summer Music Festival
Later Event: March 24
Bowral Autumn Music Festival