Back to All Events

Lyrebird Music Society

  • Wyselaskie Auditorium 29 College Crescent Parkville, VIC, 3052 Australia (map)


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - String Quartet No. 19, K465 ‘Dissonance’

Tigran Mansurian - Testament

Claude Debussy - String Quartet

Mozart’s String Quartet in C Major, K465, nicknamed ‘Dissonance’ was written between 1782 and 1785 and is the last one in a set of six quartets, dedicated to Joseph Haydn. The famous opening earned the piece its nickname.

Testament by Lebanese-Armenian Tigran Mansurian is a five-minute Lento, written in 2004 as a tribute to ECM Records-founder and producer Manfred Eicher. .

Debussy’s String Quartet, written in 1893, has become one of the most beloved pieces in the string quartet repertoire because of the stunning sensual beauty and variety of textures Debussy manages to create with these four homogeneous string instruments.

Earlier Event: April 6
Port Phillip Estate
Later Event: May 4
Kangaroo Valley Arts Festival