Acacia Quartet will once again be Ensemble-In-Residence at the Bowral Autumn Music Festival and perform alongside clarinetist David Griffiths and pianist Phillip Shovk in three very different but extremely exciting programs.


The Festival opens with Ensemble-in-Residence, Acacia Quartet and the superb clarinetist David Griffiths (from Ensemble Liaison and Australia Ensemble) playing one the most loved chamber works of all time, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Clarinet Quintet together with Joseph Haydn's joyful String Quartet in G Major Op. 77/1 and Ross Edwards' distinctive Yanada for solo clarinet.

FRIDAY 24 MARCH 2017 - 1PM

St Jude's Church - 34 Bendooley Street, Bowral NSW 2576, Australia


Hear Acacia Quartet's Australian Premiere of the unknown String Quartet No. 2 in C Major, Op. 9 by Günter Raphael prior to their invitation to perform and record this work in Berlin. They will be joined in the second half by prize winning pianist Phillip Shovk (Lisbon Vianna da Motta and Tchaikovsky Competition) for Johannes Brahms' monumental Piano Quintet in F Minor.

SATURDAY 25 MARCH 2017 - 5:30PM

St Jude's Church - 34 Bendooley Street, Bowral NSW 2576, Australia

Face To The Sun

The festival closes with three glorious string quartets, Franz Schubert's String Quartet No. 10 in E-flat D87, Sally Whitwell's 'Face to the Sun' and Ludwig van Beethoven's String Quartet in E-flat Op. 74 'Harp'. Sally is a multi-award winning Australian composer and her charming quartet, based on the native flowers Banksia, Boronia, Everlasting Daisy and Gumnut, was written especially for Acacia.

SUNDAY 26 MARCH 2017 - 2PM

St Jude's Church - 34 Bendooley Street, Bowral NSW 2576, Australia


Heading To Berlin

When Franz Schubert was between fifteen and eighteen years of age, he wrote some ten string quartets for his own use. One of them is the String Quartet No. 10 in E flat Major, Op. 125/1 D87. The quartet consisted of Franz on viola, his two older brothers Ignaz and Ferdinand on violins and their father on cello. A very early masterwork.

Günter Raphael’s String Quartet No. 1 in e Minor, Op. 5, composed in 1924, is an example of his early composition style. This early composition style, bound in part to tradition, made the music world listen because of his very personal thematic writing combined with a versatile developmental artistry.

To complement the early works, we’ve programmed one of Mozart’s most famous and late string quartets - String Quartet No. 15 K421.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's String Quartet No. 15 in d Minor, K421 is the second of the quartets dedicated to Haydn and the only one of the set in a minor key. Though undated in the autograph, it is believed to have been completed in 1783, while Constanze Mozart was in labour. Constanze stated that the rising string figures in the second movement corresponded to her cries from the other room.

FRIDAY 31 MARCH 2017 - 7PM

Sydney Opera House - Utzon Room, Sydney NSW, Australia

Raphael Project


The Raphael Foundation has invited Acacia Quartet to perform and record Raphael's string quartets Nos. 1, 2 & 6 in May 2017 in Berlin. Günter Raphael (1903-60) was an extraordinarily versatile and prolific composer who contributed numerous works, amongst them 6 string quartets

Read more about this exciting project here.


Become a Patron of Acacia now by donating through the Australian Cultural Fund. As a Patron of Acacia, your donation will be fully tax-deductable and you will be recognised on our programs.




'There are string quartets that engage audiences by their sheer will and force of playing. This is not the Acacia Quartet. They approach the music with humility and theirs is an invitation to the listener to engage. This is a great quality in a quartet. Long may it reign.' - ClassikON, 2016 - read more here

'There was never a ‘wallflower’ in these pieces, rather, each instrument had its chance to shine, taking up the narrative at different points.' - SoundsLikeSydney, 2016 - read more here

'The excited reception ... from the audience was proof of Acacia Quartet’s effective gifting on this night to us of delicate narratives, intensities, colours and shapes found in compositions for the string quartet from last century to now.' - Sydney Arts Guide, 2016 - read more here  

'Their instincts were good. The lush and complex string textures are still there when the music needs it, but the individual gestures shine out.' - A Cunning Blog, 2016 - read more here